You will soon find yourself quite naturally sharing your screen to support conversations with colleagues. What's especially awesome about screen sharing in Sococo is that multiple people can share screens simultaneously, making the experience feel very collaborative. There's no need to pass the presenter "ball" or control from one person to another, as you typically have to do in other screen sharing applications. One person can share the client presentation while the other shares her notes from the recent meeting.
Note: The very first time you launch Sococo screen sharing, you will need to install a Chrome extension, which takes a few seconds to do. Then, you are on your way!
Viewing a Screen Share
- Toggle from Map View to Media View to see streaming videos and screen shares.
- When someone shares their screen, the layout of video and currently broadcast screen share tiles automatically adjust to put the most recently shared screen front and center. The current screen share is given more real estate than everything else.
Click on the shared screen to bring it into focus. By hovering your cursor in the top right corner of the in-focus screen share, you will see the options to scale to fit, zoom in and out (great for viewing details such as small numbers or text) and enter/exit full screen mode.
Viewing Multiple Screen Shares
You can click on any one of multiple, concurrently running screen shares. Click on the screen share tile in the top media ribbon to bring it into focus.
Sococo supports a maximum of 10 media streams at any given time, implementing reasonable performance guardrails. If a meeting has 10 participants, each person could share their screen with their video off, which means you could have 10 simultaneous screen shares, if for some reason that made sense to do. Any combination of screen shares and video streams are supported up to the maximum limit of ten. When an 11th media stream is added, the most recent screen share or video will bump out the oldest inactive media stream.
Sharing Your Screen
To share your screen, click the Share screen icon in the top nav bar.
A dialogue box asking you to select what you want to share. You can share Your Entire Screen or Application Window.
Note when you share a running application, those viewing your screen share will only see the application. In other words, if you share PowerPoint, everyone will only see the PowerPoint slides you are editing.
However, when you share your entire screen, everyone will see your entire desktop, not just the PowerPoint application. This means they will see any other running applications, email subject headers in your Inbox, personal desktop images, notifications that pop-up, including any embarrassing top-secret chat messages that appear unexpectedly. For these reasons, it's usually best to select a particular application to share.
- Select the application you want to share.
The first time you share your screen, you may fumble around a bit to manipulate windows and arrange your view of what's happening in Sococo. But you'll soon get the hang of it.
The trick is layering: arrange the application you are sharing ON TOP of the Sococo application (Desktop App or Chrome browser session) so that you can still see the top
ribbon of other screen shares and video tiles while manipulating the application you are sharing.
Any time you’re sharing your screen, a bar will appear at the bottom of your Sococo window to remind you you’re sharing.
When you’re ready to stop sharing your screen, click Stop Share on this bar, or click the screen share icon in the top nav bar to toggle screen sharing off.
Tips for Sharing Your Screen
- Tip #1: Before sharing your screen, make sure any browser-based applications you want to share are running in a separate browser window from the one you’re running Sococo. This way you can choose that other application window to share to make it the focus of your shared screen.
- Tip #2: Toggle back to Map View by clicking the blue Map View button in the top navigation bar to keep your eyes on activity in your workspace.
- Tip #3: Keep your eye on the People View to see a roster of who's in the room with you. This way you'll know everyone who is in the room, including those who don't have their cameras on. "Blinkies" tell you who is talking.
- Tip #4: Sharing an application window, versus sharing your entire screen, avoids something we call the "hall of mirrors" effect.
When you share your entire screen and have the Media View in focus, you ‘ll see a trippy hall of mirrors display as you share your screen sharing your screen.
You can easily avoid the hall of mirrors annoyance by layering what you want to share on top of your media view so that you don't see the hall of mirrors. Or, share a single application (not your entire screen). Use two monitors if you absolutely must share an entire screen so that you can share content on the other screen from where you have Sococo running.